Lok Sabha polls 2019: BJP forms 17 groups, Rajnath Singh to lead manifesto committee

Senior BJP leader and Union minister Rajnath Singh will head the party’s “sankalp patra” (manifesto) committee and his cabinet colleague Arun Jaitley its publicity wing for the Lok Sabha polls as its president Amit Shah Sunday announced formation of 17 groups in preparation for the elections.

Union ministers Nirmala Sitharaman, Thavarchand Gehlot, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Piyush Goyal, Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, KJ Alphons and Kiren Rijiju, and former Madhya Pradesh chief minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan are the other members of the 20-person committee tasked with preparing the party’s manifesto, a statement said.

Finance Minister Jaitley will also be a member of this committee with Home Minister Singh at its helm.

Union minister Nitin Gadkari will head a 17-member committee to reach out to social and volunteer organisations while his cabinet colleague Sushma Swaraj will preside over a group that will produce literature for the polls, it added. Both Singh and Gadkari are former BJP presidents.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *